Contract System Overview

# Contract System Overview

Model of the blockchain running contract is considered to be the combination of the blockchain environment (distributed consensus system) and a platform that can run a piece of logic. You can see the following examples:

  • Bitcoin model can be divided into block model, PoW, and Bitcoin script.
  • Ethereum model can be divided into blocks, state model, PoW, and EVM.
  • Substrate model can be divided into blocks, state model, Bft consensus, and Runtime.

In conclusion, we can divide the blockchain model into two parts:

  • Underlying system that runs the blockchain, which provides a distributed and trusted environment.
  • Business logic of the chain, which runs in this trusted environment.

However, the execution results must be consistent for the same code and state, because of features of the blockchain system. Therefore, the running environment must make sure that different running nodes will not cause inconsistent results. To achieve this goal, most blockchains use the sandbox.

The platform for running the contract is the business logic of a chain. The code that can run on this business logic is open, and the content of the contract is not controlled by the chain itself. In this case, a sandbox environment is needed to isolate the running of various contracts.

# What is sandbox?

Sandbox is well known in the computer field. In the blockchain, sandbox is generally run by a virtual machine because the virtual machine can simulate the sandbox environment most easily.

Different chains use different virtual machines to run the contract sandbox:

  • Ethereum

    The yellow paper written by Gavin Wood proposed the model of EVM, created the concept of EVM virtual machine, and drafted the OP_CODE of EVM. After that, Solidity was designed to be compiled to OP_CODE, and then the entire ecology of Ethereum was created. It is equivalent to Ethereum's contract sandbox model for processing blockchain, building all facilities from zero to one. Therefore, the syntax of Solidity and the things that EVM can do are very simple compared to the current blockchain, such as syntax of solidity and stack depth limit of EVM. However, as a pioneer, it created a blockchain contract virtual machine model.

  • Fabric

    As a consortium chain, Fabric is different from the public chain in usage scenarios. Fabric puts forward the concept of chain code and runs the chain code in docker. Docker is a heavier type of virtual machine compared to EVM. Fabric's chain code can do more than Solidity, but its running cost is higher than EVM.

  • EOS

    EOS adopts Wasm as the virtual machine of the contract, which is also the selling point of EOS at that time. Compared to running Solidity's EVM, EOS's Wasm virtual machine has a much higher operating efficiency. Using C++ as a language compiled to Wasm has naturally attracted many traditional developers. EOS, as the forerunner of Wasm virtual machine, has already demonstrated the advantages of Wasm over EVM at that time. However, in addition to constraints of the environment, EOS has defects in the contract model design (see the next chapter for details) and is not really a centralized system. Therefore, EOS does not give full play to the capabilities of the Wasm contract system.

  • Substrate's pallet-contracts

    pallet-contracts uses the Wasm virtual machine to run the contract. Currently, for security reasons, only the Wasmi interpreter is used to execute Wasm. But its contract model is similar to the EVM contract model (see the next chapter for details). Like EVM, Wasm virtual machine has features of fast start-up and hand-to-mouth discard. In addition, Wasm has high performance and high scalability while not being too large like docker and JVM. Therefore, Wasm is slowly being adopted in more scenarios besides the browser environment, such as edge computing, hot updates, and so on. Therefore, more and more new blockchains will use the Wasm virtual machine as the main solution when they need a sandbox environment. On the other hand, Wasm also has the feature of compiling from different languages to Wasm, such as rust, assemblyscript, and c++. This feature can attract all kinds of developers to join the contract development process.

  • Other blockchains

    Other blockchains will have their own solutions to accomplish this sandbox goal. Some alliance chains use tailored JVMs, some public chains use RISC-V virtual machines, and some chains use slaves. Zero design a virtual machine (such as libra). These solutions have their own requirements and characteristics, but from the perspective of the model, no matter what the solution, the ultimate goal is to provide a virtual machine environment to run the contract sandbox.

# Sandbox for running contracts

Most of the business logic of the chain described above will run in the sandbox system, and the business logic of running contract needs sandbox isolation. On the other hand, Substrate's runtime is a sandbox environment (running in Wasm), so in Substrate's contract modules (pallet-emv, pallet-contracts), it is necessary to run another sandbox in a sandbox environment, as illustrated in the following figure:

overview

Where,

  • On the left is the Ethereum model, which means that every time a contract is run, an EVM virtual machine needs to be started on the chain platform to run
  • On the right is the Substrate model. We currently know that the business logic of the Substrate chain is running in the Wasm virtual machine:
    • pallet-EVM: The EVM of Ethereum is compiled into Runtime Wasm, so every contract that runs is actually consistent with Ethereum, and an EVM virtual machine is created to run. If the chain is running in Wasm form, an EVM virtual machine is generated in the Wasm virtual machine to run.
    • pallet-contracts: Wasm contracts use Wasm virtual machine to run contracts. The difference from pallet-evm is that if the chain is running in Wasm form, the virtual machine of Wasm contract jumps out of the current Runtime Wasm virtual machine to create a new Wasm. The virtual machine is running.
      • Currently (0b0d124d (opens new window) before the submission of substrate) Wasmtime is recommended for Runtime's Wasm virtual machine, while pallet-contracts contracts can only use wasmi.
      • pallet-contracts can also be executed using Wasmtime, but currently parity believes that Wasmtime is relatively uncontrollable, so Wasmtime has not been adopted yet. Currently they have related plans and prototype code to use Wasmtime to run pallet-contracts contracts.
  • In short, in the process of running the contract, most chains adopt a sandbox model to run the contract. For the EVM, pallet-contracts model, a virtual machine is created every time a contract is run.

# Notes:

  1. Wasmtime is a Wasm virtual machine that implements JIT, and wasmi is a pure interpreter-type Wasm virtual machine.
  2. The execution efficiency of Wasmtime is much higher than wasmi.

合约综述

# 合约综述

区块链运行合约的模型从本质上可以认为是 “区块链的环境(分布式共识系统)”+“能运行一段逻辑的平台”,例如

  • 比特币的模型可以拆成区块模型/PoW + 比特币脚本
  • 以太坊的模型可以拆成区块,状态模型/PoW + EVM
  • Substrate的模型可以拆成区块,状态模型/Bft共识 + Runtime

因此一般来说,我们可以将区块链的模型拆成

  • 运行区块链的底层系统:提供分布式可信环境
  • 链的业务逻辑:运行在这个可信环境中

而由于区块链系统的特性,要求对相同的代码,相同的状态,执行的结果一定需要一致,因此在提供“链的业务逻辑”这一层,为了保证执行结果的一致性,要求整个运行环境必须是“无副作用的”,因此不会因为运行节点的不一致(指不是同一个节点)而导致运行的结果不一致。

因此为了保证这种特性,绝大部分区块链都会采用沙盒/虚拟机的模型加上裁剪一些功能来做到。

“运行合约的平台”即是一种链的业务逻辑,且这种业务逻辑特殊在其上面可运行的代码是开放的,合约内容不受链本身控制。因此对于这种情况,更需要一种“沙盒”的环境来隔离各个合约之间的运行。

# 什么是沙盒(虚拟机)

“沙盒”在计算机领域中的概念很广泛,而在区块链中,一般而言沙盒都会由一个虚拟机去运行(因为使用虚拟机最容易模拟沙盒的环境)。

因此不同的链就会采用不同的虚拟机来运行合约的沙盒:

  • Ethereum:

    Gavin Wood 写的黄皮书提出了EVM的模型,创建了EVM虚拟机的概念并拟定了EVM的OP_CODE。之后设计了Solidity编译到OP_CODE,才有了Ethereum的整个生态。相当于Ethereum处理区块链的合约沙盒模型,从零到一构建所有设施。因此Solidity的语法以及EVM能做的事对比现在的区块链显得十分简陋(例如solidity的语法,EVM的栈深限制等等),但其作为先行者开创了区块链合约虚拟机模型先河

  • Fabric:

    作为联盟链,在使用场景上与公有链存在区别。因此Fabric提出链码的概念,并将链码运行在了docker中。docker就是比较重的一种虚拟机(相对于EVM而言),因此与EVM比较,Fabric的链码可以做到比Solidity更多的事,当然相对的,其运行的代价与EVM相比就高得多。

  • EOS:

    EOS采用了Wasm作为合约的虚拟机,也是当时EOS的卖点。相比于运行Solidity的EVM,EOS的Wasm虚拟机的运行效率高了许多,以C++作为编译到Wasm的语言也天然拉近了许多传统的开发者。EOS作为Wasm虚拟机的先行者,在当时已经体现出Wasm相对于EVM的优势,但是由于其合约模型的设计(见下一章节)的缺陷以及当时环境的约束,再加上EOS并非真正的去中心化系统,导致EOS并没有很好的发挥出Wasm合约系统的能力。

  • Substrate 的pallet-contracts

    pallet-contracts采用了Wasm虚拟机来运行合约,当前出于安全考量只采用了Wasmi解释器来执行Wasm。但其合约模型与EVM的合约模型近似(见下一章节)。Wasm虚拟机与EVM同样具有启动快,随用随丢的特性,具备高性能和高扩展性的同时又不像docker, JVM一样太过庞大。因此Wasm慢慢在除了浏览器环境以外的更多场景被采用,例如边缘计算,热更新等等。所以当前越来越多的新区块链在需要一个沙盒环境时会将Wasm虚拟机作为主要方案。另一方面Wasm也具备从不同语言编译到Wasm的特性,例如rustassemblyscriptc++等等,可以吸引到各类开发者加入到合约开发过程中。

  • 其他:

    其他区块链为了完成这个“沙盒”的目标也会有各自的方案,有的联盟链采用了裁剪过的JVM,有的公链采用了RISC-V的虚拟机,有的链采用了从零设计一个虚拟机(如libra)。这些方案各自有各自的需求与特性,但从模型上而言,无论什么方案,最终目标都是为了提供一个虚拟机环境以运行合约沙盒。

# 运行合约的沙盒

上文已描述链的业务逻辑大部分会运行于沙盒的系统中,且“运行合约”这种业务逻辑更是需要沙盒隔离。而另一方面Substrate的runtime就是一个沙盒环境(运行于Wasm中),因此在Substrate的合约模块(pallet-emvpallet-contracts),就是需要在一个沙盒环境中运行另一个沙盒,如下图所示:

overview

其中:

  • 左边是以太坊模型,表示每运行一个合约,需要在链的平台上启动一个EVM虚拟机去运行
  • 右边是Substrate模型,我们当前已知Substrate的链的业务逻辑是运行在Wasm虚拟机当中的:
    • pallet-EVM:将以太坊的EVM编译到了Runtime Wasm当中,因此每运行一个合约实际上与以太坊一致,创建了一个EVM虚拟机去运行。如果链是以Wasm形态运行,即是在Wasm虚拟机中生成了一个EVM虚拟机去运行。
    • pallet-contracts:Wasm合约使用Wasm虚拟机运行合约,与pallet-evm不同的地方是,如果链是以Wasm形态运行,Wasm合约的虚拟机是跳出当前Runtime Wasm虚拟机重新创建了一个新的Wasm虚拟机运行。
      • 当前(在substrate的提交之前 0b0d124d (opens new window))Runtime的Wasm虚拟机推荐采用的是Wasmtimepallet-contracts合约只能采用Wasmi
      • pallet-contracts也可以使用Wasmtime执行,但是当前parity认为Wasmtime不可控性比较大,因此暂时还未采用Wasmtime。当前他们有相关计划,也有原型代码来使用Wasmtime运行pallet-contracts的合约。(注1)
  • 总之运行合约的过程中,大部分链都采用了一种沙盒的模型去运行合约。而对于EVM,pallet-contracts模型而言,是每运行一个合约就会创建一个虚拟机

# 注解

  1. Wasmtime是实现了JIT的Wasm虚拟机,而Wasmi是纯解释器型的Wasm虚拟机。
  2. Wasmtime的执行效率比Wasmi高很多。